The Iconic Limestone Mill structure is one of the only remaining Mills in Central Pennsylvania that has an existing mill dam and machinery still intact.  The Mill was recently listed on the National Register of Historic Places. While the Mill dam creates a barrier to recreational use of the Conodoguinet Creek it also makes possible the future restoration of the mill as a unique example of early water powered mills in Cumberland County which were an essential part of the farming and early industry of the area.

See  Water-Powered Mills of Cumberland County Pennsylvania, 2015, Published by the Cumberland County Historical Society ( Heishman’s Mill pgs. 114-117).

The Mill and Mill dam were donated to Preservation Pennsylvania in 2019 from the estate of William Foshag, a preservationist who owned and maintained the mill from 1976 until his death.

Preservation Pennsylvania, www.preservationpa.org,  established an in perpetuity historic preservation easement on the property which insures that all future owners of the dam and mill will preserve the historic integrity of the exterior of the mill.  Fortunately for the community, a descendant of Howard T. Heishman, who owned the Mill from 1940 to 1947 agreed to purchase the mill from Preservation Pennsylvania and completed extensive renovation on the exterior of the mill. The new owners have been working closely with historical organizations and the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission to provide safe public access to the Conodoguinet Creek Water Trail and provide a variety of historical and environmental programs to the community.

Comments are closed.